Letter: A message of unity from Montreal faith leaders

Article content

We recognize that there is tremendous pain and grief in our city right now.

While we may not agree on everything, and at times it may seem like we agree on very little, here in Montreal we have a commitment that we share with every good person in the world.

Article content

We will never tolerate what is going on around the world to be used as a justification for any form of discrimination, violence or hatred in our city.

Article content

We request the wonderful residents of our beloved city to join us in calling out all forms of hatred, and to never glorify or take joy in violence.

We urge everyone to never allow our ideologies, religious beliefs or political positions to become a cause for hatred of another human being.

We are all neighbours. We stand with each other and against all forms of hate now and forever.

Rabbi Lisa Grushcow
Archbishop Christian Lépine
lmam Hassan Guillet
Rev. Patrick Wheeler
Rev. Diane Rollert
Imam Musabbir Alam
Samira Laouni
Rabbi Adam Scheier
Salam El-Mousawi
Rev. Jean-Daniel Ó Donncada
Imam Youssouf Fofana
Dr. Elisabeth Jones
Rabbi Anthony Knopf
Rabbi Yamin Benarroch
Rabbi Alan W. Bright
The Very Rev. Mary Irwin-Gibson
Bishop Rev. Darryl Macdonald
Rev’d Stephen Petrie
Mx. Bailey Eastwood
Reverend Wendy Telfer
Rev. Roslyn Macgregor
Lee-Ann Matthews
Ehab Lotayef
Shaheen Ashraf
Rev. James B. Pratt
Rev. Dr. Chris Barrigar
Rev. Stephen A. Crisp
Deacon Maylanne Maybee

Rabbi Michael Whitman
Rev. Dr. Deborah Meister
Rev. Dr. Geert-Jan Boudewijnse
Rev. Graham Singh
Rev. Jean-Jacques Goulet
Rev. Bertrand Olivier
Ralph Leavitt
Rabbi Ellen A. Greenspan
Rabbi Sherril Gilbert
Pascale Frémond
Mehmet Deger, president Dorval Masjid
Rev. Deacon Jean Willcocks
Rev. Deacon Judith Ball
Rev. Alan Evans
Rev. Paul Tidman
Rev. Grace Pritchard Burson
Rev. Fresia Saborio
Deacon Peter Huish
Rev. Chanoine Yves-Eugène Joseph
Rev. Tania Lesack
Rev. Amy Hamilton
Rev. Professor P. G. Kirkpatrick

Rabbi Marc Mandel
Rev. Deacon David R. Blizard
Rev. Tim Smart
Rev. Jacques Delisle
The Venerable Michelle Eason
Deacon C. Merlyne Howard
Rev. Suzan Searle
Anne Godbout
Rev. Nicoline Guerrier

Related Stories

Share this article in your social network